My 52 week Challenge

52 week challenge

Yesterday I began a year long commitment to my relationship with the 52 moves of Nia. While attending my blue belt training at Nia HQ in beautiful Portland, Oregon, I decided that I could use a little more time with some of the 52 moves. It was rather surprising to realize that I have been avoiding a few of these movements because of ankle and knee injuries that I have been working through rather than listening to my body and finding my body’s way of moving each of these moves. Thankfully, I was able to come to terms with the fact that I am not perfect (gasp!), and now I am on a quest to reacquaint myself with some old friends; 52 of them to be exact. I anticipate that I will be spending a lot of time with Carlos and Debbie via video over the next year.

How perfect is it that there are 52 weeks in the year and 52 Nia moves? I think it is pretty perfect. After a very emotional week at my Blue Belt training I came home with the idea of refocusing on the basics. It is my desire to experience pleasure with each of these moves, and after dancing the 52 moves almost daily for a week I was excited to keep the momentum going when I got home. My question was how best to do this? Should I dance the 52 moves once a week? Twice a week? When I noticed the coincidence of 52 weeks and 52 moves, I knew what had to be done; I had to focus on one move per week for the next year.

So here is the challenge:
I will be choosing one of the 52 moves as a personal focus each week. Using WB principle 7, I will incorporate the movement into my daily routine. I will use the 5 sensations (strength, stability, mobility, agility, and flexibility) to guide my exploration of this movement and my relationship to each movement. At least once a week I will journal (perhaps even blog one day, like today!) about my experience.

In order to keep myself on task, I have recruited at least 9 of my fellow blue beings to join me in this journey. Like Alice, I am chasing my white rabbit down the rabbit hole to see what lies beyond.

This entry was posted in Nia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

