Cross Behind

Cross Behind:

Standing in Open Stance, step back and onto the ball of your left foot, crossing your ankles as if making a small “x”. Keep your back heel high, and practice alternating sides. Now, step back crossing your ankles, and this time rise up onto the balls of both feet. Maintain your small “x” by keeping both feet under your hips. To guide your alignment, sound cross. Alternate sides. (From The Nia Technique Debbie Rosas and Carlos Rosas).

Oh my, it has been about two weeks since my last blog post. Cross behind was the move for week 18 of the 52 week challenge. As a reminder, the goal is to incorporate one of the 52 moves per week into my daily routine and play with the move in high, middle, and low planes and vary the level of intensity. I have given myself the goal of not only focusing on one move per week, but also blogging about my experiences. So, it looks like I have slipped a bit over the last two weeks. Ugh! I HAVE been playing with the moves though, so I have only been remiss on blogging.

I think that I start every blog post by talking about how much I like the move that I am playing with. I love Nia, and I really do love each one of these moves. I find some moves more challenging than others, but overall, I love them all. In the last two weeks I played with Crossing Front and Crossing Behind. I was excited about focussing on each move for their respective weeks; we use these moves all the time in routines, so slowing down to play with each move was really fun and useful.

Cross Front: I spent most of the week thinking of the image of a clock. As I crossed front, I would step to 1 or 2 with my left foot or 10 or 11 with my right foot. I was conscious of my knees and hips and really worked on slowing down my movement and rolling through the heel lead that took me to each number. In class I was especially conscious of the placement of my feet and the subtle differences I noticed when I took this move to my lower plane versus my highest plane of movement. I felt graceful as I moved from one side to the other and incorporated more hand movement or more movement from the body weights. In my daily routine, it made my every day tasks like emptying the dishwasher so much more enjoyable. Good times with Cross Front.

Cross Behind: Ah, how I love to cross behind. This is such a fun move to play with. When you energize this move, you can cover a lot of territory. When you slow this move down, you can use your x-ray anatomy (principle 10) to check your alignment. By playing with your upper extremities, you can enjoy the feeling of grace as you experience the five sensations of fitness in your being. So many ways to play.

Every time I cross behind, I hear the voice of one of my favorite teachers reminding me to keep my hips parallel to the mirror. Every time I crossed behind making the little “x” with my ankles, I thought about my hips and their placement. My hips have been troublesome for a few weeks, so I am happy to report that I had no issues this week.

I used Cross Behind to pick up things that had fallen to the floor, to retrieve cat toys, to reach dishes on the top shelves, and just for fun when I was looking for something to do. I really played, and it did not feel like work. However, blogging did, so you will have to forgive me for the hiatus.

Onward!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

