Cha-Cha-Cha and Slow Clock

Cha-Cha-Cha: Cha-Cha-Cha is like the cha-cha dance step. In place, step left-right-left, then right-left-right, a one-two-three count. Keep your feet close to the ground. Feel free to use your hands and arms to express yourself in many playful ways. To help keep your rhythm, sound cha-cha-cha. This helps develop athletic skill, lower-body speed, and coordination. (From The Nia Technique Debbie Rosas and Carlos Rosas).

For week 21 of my 52 week challenge, I played with Cha-Cha-Cha. The goal was to incorporate this move into my daily routine, and allow myself to play with the three planes of movement (high, middle, and low) as well as the three intensity levels. Using the five sensations of fitness, stability, mobility, flexibility, agility, and strength as a guide, I was seeking pleasure in this movement throughout the week. THEN, I was supposed to blog about it. As is becoming my pattern, I did not blog about my experiences at the end of my week. With the week of Cha-Cha-Cha ending, that brought me to week 22…

Slow Clock: Begin by marching in place, in the center of an imaginary clock on the floor. Starting with your left foot, march at a rhythmic pace and on 1, step to the front with your left foot landing on 12:00; then back to the center of your clock. Then step back to 6:00 and return to center. “Slow” clock refers to always returning to center after stepping to any number. Sound 12:00, center, 6:00, center as you move, and then try stepping to other numbers. This move adds precision and grace. Alternate sides. (From The Nia Technique Debbie Rosas and Carlos Rosas).

It really is week 22 of my 52 week challenge, and if you would like to play along with me this week, here are the “rules”: Incorporate Slow Clock into your daily routine. Play with high, middle, and low planes of movement and varying intensity levels. Use the five sensations of fitness, agility, mobility, stability, flexibility, and strength as your guides as you play with Slow Clock. At the end of your week, journal, blog, or report back on your experiences. The goal is to gain insight into how your body likes to move and how you can find pleasure in any one of the 52 moves that Nia is based upon.

It was another week of neglect for my little blog, but this time, it really was not my fault. I blame the sun. I fully intended to sit down last Friday on my day off to write, but the sunshine was truly insane (if you were inside of my head right now, you would hear the Brady Bunch singing “Sunshine Day”. I accept that this song may be responsible for the insanity). The sun forced me to play outside on my bike instead of writing about the delightful time that I had on week 21 of my challenge. I frequently suffer from vitamin D deficiency (no joke, I do!), so when the sun came out I knew what I had to do; I had to leave my cave and go absorb some of that insane sunshine. I am sure that my doctor would back me up on this one. So, here is what I would have written if I didn’t have to play outside.

Ah, Cha-Cha-Cha. You have been a delight; you filled my days with endless counts of 1, 2, 3 and helped me experience the sensation of agility. During class, you allowed me to move around the room, between moves like Cross Front or Cross Behind, to change feet proficiently and quickly, and to free dance through the space. I enjoy you most at a fast pace, but I also like to slow things down with you. Cha-Cha-Cha, you are truly versatile. I can’t say that it was fun to play with you at the grocery store though; I think people thought I needed to use the restroom. I did appreciate how much more fun you made doing dishes and cooking, and putting things away. You taught me to listen to my ankles and my feet more closely, and you also taught me a valuable lesson about picking up my feet even when I am tired (hot spots, be gone!). Thank you Cha-Cha-Cha.

And now, because I suspect that you need this, enjoy: 

Please do play with Slow Clock this week. I love it, and I am sure that you will too!

This entry was posted in 52 Moves, Nia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

