Front Kick

Front Kick: Lift your thigh, tucking your heel in toward your buttocks into Ready Position. Look in the direction you intend to kick, and with your hands at heart level and your palms flexed, kick your foot out and to the front. Push down into the earth with the supporting foot, and use your hands and arms to maintain vertical alignment and balance. As you kick front, keep the front of your thigh facing the ceiling, and keep the knee of your supporting leg unlocked and spring loaded. Start with a low kick, then work higher. Imagine kicking a balloon. This move will build balance, coordination, confidence, and strength. As your kicks gain power, shift from sounding purr to pow! Alternate sides. (From The Nia Technique Debbie Rosas and Carlos Rosas).

It is week 24 of my 52 week challenge. This week our focus is Front Kick. The goal is to incorporate Front Kick into your daily routine for the next seven days, moving through high, middle, and low planes of movement and low, middle, and high intensity levels. Allowing the five sensations of fitness, agility, mobility, stability, flexibility, and strength to guide your exploration. Choose comfort as you explore your body’s relationship to this move, and at the end of your week, chronicle your experience. Don’t forget to play and have fun!

Last week the focus was on Fast Clock, and one comment that my beautiful blue belt sister and friend Elizabeth made really stuck out to me. She said that she likes this move because it really feels like you are dancing, and I would have to agree. It does make you feel like you are dancing, even if you are just attending to your daily chores and needs. How much more fun is it to cook dinner when you can dance and cook dinner? For me, it is a much appreciated dose of pleasure. I often thought about Betsy’s words this week as I danced through my day, and it made me smile every time. Thanks Betsy!

You may not know this, but even if you have a job that keeps you chained to a desk and computer, you can still dance a fast clock while sitting at your desk. Like many artists (ok, Nia teacher really, but striving to see myself as an artist), I have a day job that allows me the financial stability to do what I love. This job is very sedentary, and because I work from home my work station is less than body friendly. I often sit for hours at a time without much opportunity for movement, and, more often than not, I am also talking on the phone and typing. This week I increased my pleasure and my work experience by playing with Fast Clock. Although my movements were small and limited by sitting, it was still so much more pleasurable and interesting than my normal work experience. I noticed that my posture improved when I was playing with Fast Clock at my desk, and I was in a much better mood.

When I wasn’t sitting or doing my normal chores, I was working on learning Birth, a newish routine that is the current object of my ongoing procrastination. I love that this routine has Fast Clock, and as I practiced I realized that it will be the first routine that I teach that does incorporate this move. That really struck me because I recall dancing this move as a student all the time. I suddenly felt deprived and sad, and I had the realization that I clearly need to learn more routines! I really don’t like to feel deprived, so this new found sense of loss also motivated me to take a song out that I have been keeping in a special folder called “new routine” for over three years and start working on choreography. As you may have guessed, this song does incorporate Fast Clock. I shall not be deprived!

So, to sum up my week with Fast Clock, I would have to say that increasing my pleasure at my day job (because artists don’t have jobs; they have day jobs) and feeling motivated to work on learning more routines and my own choreography was extremely satisfying and awesome. As I step into the new week with Front Kick, I am feeling optimistic. Plus kicking is fun. Really, it is. Try it!

This entry was posted in 52 Moves, Nia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

