Shimmy

Shimmy: Vibrate and shake your shoulders, standing upright or moving front and back, as if you are shaking water off. Relaxing your lower jaw, so that the neck and shoulder girdle muscles naturally relax, will allow your arms to hang loosely. Make your movements continuous, instead of jerky. Sound the vowels a, e, i, o, u as you shimmy. Benefits: Practicing Shimmy strengthens your Core and supports your upright posture. This move is great for attaining precision in small movements and building endurance in small muscles. (From The Nia Technique Debbie Rosas and Carlos Rosas).

It is week 31 of my 52 week challenge, and this week I will be playing with Shimmy. If you are playing with me, here are our goals: incorporate this move into our daily routines. Use the three planes of movement, high, middle, and low, and the three levels of intensity to gain insight into our relationships with this move. Allowing sensation to be our guide, seek comfort as we play with agility, mobility, flexibility, stability, and strength. At the end of the week report back on your experiences with this movement or journal about your experiences. Have fun!

Last week we played with Chest Isolations. One thing that I have noticed about this move is that moving my chest from side to side draws air in and out of my lungs. I re-noticed this again this week. It is an interesting but strange sensation.

I also found that this move requires quite a bit of my concentration; otherwise I find that I move my shoulders as well. I used this move in class this week, and I played all around the house with Chest Isolations. It was fun, but at times, it was a bit tiring. I can only sustain the movement for a little while. My great insight is that I need to keep playing with this move so that it feels a little more natural to my body. I am still learning to relax into this move. That realization would have been hard for my ego not too long ago, but this challenge has me viewing my relationship with each move in a whole new way. I am enjoying finding ways to improve my skill instead of feeling defeated about needing to keep working on my skills. So, on my long-term goal list I shall add “play with Chest Isolations”. Who knew setting goals could be so fun?

I am so looking forward to this week with Shimmy. Ever since I realized that the move this week would be Shimmy, I have had the song “Whole Lotta Shakin’ Going On” stuck in my head. Indeed, it will be a week with a lot of shaking going on.

 

This entry was posted in 52 Moves, Nia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

